Energizer -what? Is the bunny on summer vacation or something?!

June 25, 2010 at 12:57 pm 2 comments

So, this wasn’t the intended post for my first day of summer break. Really, it wasn’t.

But after last night, well, the tale just had to be told.

For a few months now, I’ve been crafting a whole post about things that have been going on here that I’ve kept off the blog, and I’ve got a giveaway to go with it…and it’s coming, I swear…

But, this totally pre-empted anything cute and nice and tactful.

Here goes why I hate Energizer Batteries right now.

Last night, I was sitting at the computer clicking away on some work stuff (reviews, cool stuff, ect..) when my insulin pump (yep-I wear one…more on that later..) started buzzing and chirping.

I pulled it out, peeked at the screen, and it said “Low battery.” Ok, fine. I zipped downstairs and got one of the spare batteries and tossed it in the pump.

The pump went through its start up routine, and then there it was “Battery test failed.”

What?

This is a freakin’ new battery! What gives!?

So, then, I pull out a SECOND battery-SAME STORY.

Then a third. SAME STORY.

Now, pleased realize that any sane human being would at this point abandon the entire pack and move on to a different pack of batteries even if it wasn’t the energizer brand.

I can’t do that.

you see, I’d void the warranty on my pump if I use anything but energizer batteries.

Yeah, I’m not kidding.

So, I sat there debating for about 2 seconds on what to do.

I woke up Doug-demanded a AAA battery out of his stash and swore that I would hold him harmless for anything that went wrong, because I was just that desperate.

We placed a battery in the pump and whammo-it started working!

I then went to bed for a good nights’ sleep.

This morning, I woke up, still fuming about the Energizer debacle. So, I did what any well connected blogger would do.

Fire up Twitter.

So, I went and posted this message:

@energizer Hey guys-thanks for the entire pack of dead aaa batteries! My insulin pump loves flashing the “failed battery test” icon..

and sat back and waited.

about an hour and a half later I get the following :

@kileigh7 Hi Laura – sorry to hear that! We’d like to help out. Please send us a direct message.

Okie dokie. I can do that-so I send them a message and they respond back not even 5 minutes later with an offer for a FREE PACK OF BATTERIES!!

Woohooooooo!!!

Behold! The power of Twitter!

So, now, my pump and I are happily chugging along in anticipation of the new batteries that are flying my way.

Thanks Energizer! Now, the bunny can go to the beach in peace.

Entry filed under: insanity.

I know, I know! It’s quiet here! The end of Kindergarten and the closing of the lab

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I love Twitter. What I love even more are companies that are savvy enough to have people running their Twitter accounts to reply to customers. Kudos to Energizer 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ila  |  June 26, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Thank goodness for the power of the written word…Go you!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,899 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

