Sure! I’ll drop everything and run to Chicago!

July 2, 2010 at 11:52 am 5 comments

Note the extreme sarcasm.

Doug’s cousin is getting married. Yes, he was in our wedding, BUT, with me teaching (Please?) and Doug working in health care…it’s hard to really get time off. AND to boot, the wedding is in Chicago, during the MARATHON. Yeah. Not one place to stay under 275/night. NOT in my budget. Especially with 3 people needing accomodations-We wouldn’t leave Isaac home!

So, imagine my shock and awe when a BRIDAL SHOWER invite arrived in my mailbox yesterday.

Sure! I’ll drop everything and run to Chicago for a luncheon event! I’ll just put all of my plans for the summer aside and run out there. No matter that Isaac and I have one trillion things to do.

color me unamused.

Now…how to decline graciously without laughing hysterically at the suggestion that I could be there if I really wanted to…

Entry filed under: insanity, wow.

The Easy Lunchbox System-one word. Yum. Happy 4th!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amey  |  July 2, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I’m betting that’s a courtesy shower invite. You’re family, so you get an invite.

    As for the wedding – is there a way to stay more outside the city and take their train (the el?) into where the wedding is?

    Reply
    • 2. kileigh7  |  July 2, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      unfortunately, it’s marathon weekend (nope. not kidding. the boneheads scheduled their wedding during the marathon..) so, everything is taken. I mean EVERYTHING, including relatives houses!

      Reply
  • 3. Kelly Lester  |  July 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    I so hope Doug’s cousin doesn’t read your blog… πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 4. kileigh7  |  July 2, 2010 at 5:15 pm

      naah. they have no clue I blog. I’ve had this site for oh, 5 years and they have yet to even know it exists. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. TheAngelForever  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I think this was 110% a send me a gift. They know you can’t come and they sent it. Don’t agree that it was a courtesy thing at all. It is more courteous not to send something to someone if you know they can not attend and you are not that close with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,899 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

