In which my brain is a muddled mess.

July 23, 2010 at 3:24 pm 1 comment

Today started off like any other day. Get up, kick Isaac out the door to camp and Doug and I went to breakfast. We got home and went about our business. Doug went straight to the basement to do the garbage and cat boxes, I went upstairs to write an email and work on the reviews that need to go up for the Summer O’ Stuff.

Then, it happened. Doug came flying up the stairs telling me that Booger was dead. I thought he was kidding. I really did. How could my sweet Booger be really gone?

Suffice to say, he wasn’t kidding.

It was then it all hit me. I broke into tears and started to make phone calls. What the heck do you do with an animal corpse? Do you bury it, do you what? I had absolutely no clue.

So, I called the vet first and they said that I could do one of two things-bury her in the back yard or have her cremated. I could do the cremation one of two ways-private, where I got the ashes back or a general one where I wouldn’t get the ashes back.

I figured getting the ashes back would be creepy as all heck. Seriously. I loved her to death and all, but seriously. What the heck do I need her ashes for? What would I do with them? I couldn’t find a logical thing to do with them, so I asked the vet fora  bit of time and hung up. I then made a few other phone calls about final arrangements.

After a few minutes, we settled on taking her to Hudson Mohawk Humane Society.

I sobbed the whole way down, and Doug held back tears. He had to drive. I was in zero shape to drive for anything. When we got there, Doug carried her in as I filled out the paperwork and paid for the entire thing.  Doug finally broke and as soon as they took her back, he dashed out the door to the car.

I asked they be gentle with her. Asked that they remind her one last time she was loved dearly and would be sorely missed.

They promised they would. I’m holding them to that.

I don’t know how I’m going to explain all of this to Isaac. Booger was just as much his cat as ours. He loved her, snuggled her (even against her best judgment) and laughed at her eternal brainlessness.

I went book hunting, but the one that came highest recommended,  I think I’m going to pass on. I went through it and the last bit of the book deals with the last best thing about this child’s pet being that his body would decompose and turn into fertilizer.

Umm…I’m having a hard enough time saying goodbye without explaining decomposition to my child. So, Now I’m on the hunt for another book. I told Isaac, and I don’t think he totally gets it. I really don’t. Frankly, I’m such a muddled mess that I don’t even have my head around her being gone.

Heck. I’m just getting around Furball being gone.

I know there are good things in everything, but right now, I’m having a hard time seeing the forest through the trees. I can think of a million good and funny things about her. Right now, all I can think about is the fact that she’s gone and I almost feel as if it’s my fault in some backhanded way. I’m still thinking the usual coulda-woulda-shoulda.

So, goodbye my beloved Booger. Our car engine kitty, nap buddy and all around great furever friend.

Booger, holding my knitting with style

Don’t think for a second that you’ll be forgotten.

Entry filed under: blue.

Summer O’ Stuff-Hello, Shutterfly! Hi Bear!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  July 23, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Sending virtual hugs your way until I see you in person. I am SO sorry. Booger was such a sweet and innocent cat. She gave us all so many laughs. I still remember the first time I heard about her antics. . . and they continued until the end. She will definitely be remembered.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,931 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

