Summer o’ stuff-the K’NEX construction vehicles

July 28, 2010 at 7:27 am 20 comments

As part of the Sheblogs blog tour, I’ve been given the opportunity to review and give away a few things….

First on the list are these little beauties!
oooh! Vehicles!

yes, these are K’nex!

What we have here are the Series 2 Construction Vehicles from their vehicles collection. There’s a giant excavator, a dump truck and a bulldozer. Each kit has over 200 parts and either a motor (the dump truck and bulldozer) or a sound block (the excavator).

In the interest of full disclosure here, I need to state the following.

I am normally not a “building bricks” person. In my family, my sister and brother in law are the ones who love this stuff. Isaac has seemed to inherit the “building brick” knack that I so lack. But then again, the lego table was used as punishment in my day care. So, call it an aversion…but I digress.

So, I opened the box of k’nex stuff and the first thing we started working on was the giant Excavavator.
To my absolute delight and shock, this was one of the easiest projects of this type I’ve undertaken.

We first broke out the instruction booklet:
ooh. Instructions! Let's follow them!

and I loved the fact that my emerging reader didn’t have to stress too much, because he could follow the pictures and tell me what small pieces he needed help with and where they went.
how to put the treads on
putting the wheels on

and as quickly as we had sorted the pieces, we had a rolling chassis.
Ooh! Rolling chassis!

I was impressed at the absolute ease of this sucker! Holy Cow! I figured Isaac and I were going to have to spend hours and hours and both of us would end up wanting to murder the other one, but that wasn’t the case! It was FUN!

Until…

I had to play emergency vet.

See this small, fuzzy, innocently sleeping thing?
Yep, That's Bear looking innocent...

Yeah. He decided he wanted to help us build the excavator. We did the pick up and deposit him out of the craft room we were using as the build area, but he kept coming back. Finally, he decided that he had had enough of swatting the bricks and took one into his mouth and and tried to chew it.

yeah.

So, I quickly grabbed Bear by the scruff of the neck and popped his jaw open and swept the brick out. I did NOT want to have my kitten forced to wear the Cone of Shame!

Once Bear got that treatment, he retreated to the position under the rocking chair where he could watch, think he was in on the action, but not be grabbed, scruffed and mouth swept. Nutjob cat.

But all in all, I think that the K’nex construction vehicles have changed my opinion of building kits. I’d totally do other ones now, and can’t wait to dig into the other two that are sitting on the chair in the craft room turned “build area.”

here’s a picture of the excavator without the crane. Note that the cab actually swivels!!!
neat, huh?

This only took us an hour and a half, even with the brief cat interlude.

So, K’nex has graciously offered to give one of my gawkers a full set (just like the one pictured above) of the Series 2 Construction Vehicles! You’ll be able to make your own giant excavator, dump truck and bulldozer.

Cool, huh?

So, wanna know how you can get these?
First, leave a comment on this post telling me about the last time you built with legos, k’nex or another building material. What did you build? was it a kit or did you go all free form?

Then, there are these ways:

Go visit another stop on the Sheblogs Summer Blog Tour! Enter their giveaway and comment here with which one you entered.

Follow Kileigh7 on twitter and tweet about this giveaway.

Go visit K’nex and tell me what other product you’d really love to try your hand at building.

The giveaway will end on August 11th, 2010 at 9pm Eastern time. I’ll be using my favorite random number generator to select the winner from all comments received!

Disclosure-I received this set of K’nex vehicles as part of the 2010 SheBlogs summer tour, plus a set to give away to my readers. There was no compensation received. The opinions and photos are mine and mine alone.

Entry filed under: giveaways, sheblogs 2010 tour, Summer O' Stuff.

Summer School and the Newly Minted First grade response Where does it end?

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katrina Jenness  |  July 28, 2010 at 7:38 am

    The last set was a Legos set… and my 5 year old is very creative… so it was a mix of following directions and free form πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  July 29, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Our Legos and K’nex get used near daily by the boys, mostly free form. Me? I just tend to step on them in the middle of the night.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  July 29, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Entered at Rural Mom too!

    Reply
  • 4. Maeve  |  July 29, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Kieran plays with Lego all the time. My in-laws have a bunch of k’nex and he plays with them there and is really good with them. He follows the instructions, but is up to some of the more advanced building stuff, and I think free-form will be coming soon. It’s one of the things he will sit down and really focus on and do, which is pretty awesome, because we’ve had trouble getting him to focus on stuff in general.

    Reply
  • 5. Janet F  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:43 am

    My four year old grandson and I played with Legos a couple of weeks ago. It was free form and we did not make anything specific.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

    Reply
  • 6. Janet F  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:44 am

    I like Motorized Madness Ball Machine.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

    Reply
  • 7. Mike  |  August 1, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Last weekend my son built a garage for his cars. I supervised.

    Reply
  • 8. Katie  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    It was today! My son and I built a free-form racecar.

    Reply
  • 9. Rachel C  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I build legos with my kids all the time – usually dog houses for their stuffed animals πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 10. Rachel C  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I entered at Rural Mom

    Reply
  • 11. Rachel C  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:09 am

    entered at Little Yayas

    Reply
  • 12. Rachel C  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I’d also love to get the Lincoln Logs Frontier Farm set from the KNEX site.

    Reply
  • 13. Rachel C  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Also entered at Frugality in the Making πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 14. TheAngelForever  |  August 10, 2010 at 9:22 am

    We are always building with Legos in the house. My last project was a free-form house with my 3 year old. The 6 year old followed some instructions to build a fancy car. Thanks for the fun πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 15. TheAngelForever  |  August 10, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Follow on Twitter and Tweet Tweet: http://twitter.com/TheAngelForever/status/20794222529

    Reply
  • 16. TheAngelForever  |  August 10, 2010 at 9:27 am

    The Dinosaurs 20 Model Set looks like a lot of fun. . . . along with a bunch of other sets as well.

    Reply
  • 17. TheAngelForever  |  August 10, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Entered Rural Moms KNex giveaway

    Reply
  • 18. AndreaT  |  August 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    My son has a small Sesame Street K’Nex set he like to build with – this looks like a nice step up to increase his collection!

    Reply
  • 19. jennifer barr  |  August 11, 2010 at 6:10 am

    My son plays with legos ALOT. He last built a house.

    Reply
  • 20. jennifer barr  |  August 11, 2010 at 6:13 am

    i entered:
    K’NEX Light Up Ferris Wheel Review and Giveaway

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,772 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

