Now, I’m just a little bit more bionic.

August 1, 2010 at 7:25 pm Leave a comment

There are days when I don’t think about wearing the insulin pump, and there are days when it’s just more trouble than it’s worth. Then there are the days that I know I couldn’t live without it because I know I’d be in the hospital.

This is why I was hesitant to get a continuous glucose monitor (or the CGM). I wasn’t sure if it was going to be more trouble than it was worth or a lifesaver for me.

So, when I asked my educator about the entire thing and recounted the tale of the night I had the worst low episode of my life (and the resulting confusion and grabbing of a no sugar low carb popsicle…yeah. that was not my finest hour.) she suggested a trial of one of the two systems. Either the MiniMed real time one or the Dexcom 7.

Since the episode, I’d been doing my homework and was pretty set on if I was going to do this, I was going Dexcom all of the way, even though I have a MiniMed pump. It wasn’t a hard decision, when it came down to accuracy, error rates and change out times.

So, I got into a Dexcom trial. I got to play with the system for 7 days and then decide if it was worth my time and energy or if it was just so not for me. I spent 2 hours with another educator who specializes in CGM, learning the basics and the quick and dirties of the whole thing. How to put it on, how to take it off, troubleshooting, ect. It wasn’t so bad and with the exception of sleeping through an alarm one night-to Doug’s absolute horror-it wasn’t so bad.

So, I ordered one for myself. Well, with the help of the docs and educators. I can’t just call up Dexcom and say “Hey- I want one!” Doesn’t work that way.

So, once it arrived, via UPS in a VERY smashed box and missing a few things because they fell out of the very smashed box where the tape was pulled away, I threw a sensor on and got to Dex-ing.

So, now, on one hip, I’ve got the pump. On the opposite thigh, I’ve got a dexcom sensor and transmitter.

I’m now just a smidge more bionic.

Metal detectors should be all sorts of fun.

Entry filed under: medical mayhem.

Where does it end? Identity Crisis

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,846 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

