Things I do to entertain myself

August 6, 2010 at 1:26 pm 1 comment

I swear. I think I am one of the most easily bored people I know. If I’m not involved in SOMETHING or doing something TO something, I’m in trouble.

Since becoming mildly bionic, I’ve taken to finding…accessories…for my bionic-ness. These are things that I love, and are on a budget. I figure if I’ve got to deal with this hot mess, I might as well have fun doing it.

I’ve got a great carrier for my monitor from Stick Me Designs
Beats boring black nylon, doesn't it?
Yes, that’s the one I have.

I’ve also got a pouch from Golla Pouches for my pump to sit in when I have to dress up and don’t have a pocket. It’s technically a cell phone/camera case, but it’s small enough that it works well for what I need it for. Yay for purple!

Yes, I went all matchy-matchy.

Then, a few weeks ago, I was an idiot and did something that landed me in the doc’s office. While I was there, the nurse practitioner decided to “share the wealth” of the stuff that the reps had dropped off. Think swag for diabetics. Seriously. Never thought there was such a thing, but that day, I walked out with a travel plate, magnets, an insulated bag with all sorts of goodies and things that Isaac kleptoed. Like 3D glasses…and more magnets. One thing that she also gave me provided me with the brainstorm that lead to the latest thing I’ve gotten to entertain myself.

A skin for my pump.

I’d seen these, but wasn’t so sure about how they would work. I was kinda skeptical of sticking something to my extremely expensive equipment. It’s only when I’m attaching things to this sucker or playing with the batteries that I remember how much this sucker is and that it’s totally attached to my body. I normally try not to think about it so that I don’t sit around stressing out.

I then started exploring the world of skins…via the website, skinitI was floored by the entire make your own concept, but wasn’t sure how that would play out on an insulin pump. That was the ultimate in entertainment, but come on. I didn’t think anything that I would put on a skin would look decent.

Lo and behold, I found DISNEY designs!!

are we seeing where this is going? Former Cast Member…Disney designs….Yeah. Doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure this one out.

I ordered this one:
My favorite turtle-Squirt!

Yeah, that’s Squirt from the EAC! One of my favorite turtles ever. It was perfect-my love of turtles and Disney all in one. Woohoo!

So, I hemmed and hawed and hemmed and hawed and then just dove in and ordered it. I figured it would not only entertain me, but would entertain anyone who saw my pump.

The only problem with the new skin is that it’s hard to get a really good picture of the skin on my pump, as there are curves and grooves and things that make seeing the design on a camera pretty impossible.

So, anyone got any other good ideas that will keep me entertained that are functional as well? I’m all for dual purpose!!

Disclosure-All of the items that appear on this post were purchased by me. No items were received for free and no compensation was received.

Entry filed under: insanity.

Identity Crisis Excuses, excuses

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. april yedinak  |  August 6, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I found your blog because I was checking out the SheBlogs Summer Tour thingy. I must say, that I was so entertained and touched by your posts, that for the first time ever, I kept going further and further back to read a blogger’s posts. I love the way you write and the things you say. Can’t wait to read more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,899 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

