Schwanky, Schwanky

September 2, 2010 at 8:03 am 1 comment

I knew it. One of the times I plan something, I would run into my arch nemesis-Schwanky things.

I’m a girl of simple means. I like jeans, khakis (not low rise-DO YOU HEAR ME OLD NAVY!?! I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT MY STUDENTS SEEING MY CHONIES!!!) classic styled clothes and things that are low key.

So, why is it that I dragged Sidekick to Cinema Under the Stars the other night at one of the schwankiest joints in town-Dale Miller.

Truth is that I missed her birthday. Her birthday is in February, and there just wasn’t the “fun” factor to anything I had tried to plan. Every year, I tell her where to meet me, what to wear (so that there’s no showing up in a skirt for going snowshoeing,) and I drop clues that are mind boggling and drive her insane. She has no clue what’s going on until she meets me and I finally reveal my plans.

This year, it all sucked. Nothing was coming together in February, and I was insanely busy. So, we tabled the matter…until the other night.

It was then I decided-cinema under the stars to see a favorite of mine (and one she hadn’t seen, shockingly) Breakfast At Tiffany’s was the way to make up for the botched February.

I knew this joint was schwanky, but I was unprepared for the heights of schwank.

Sidekick and I were presentable in capris, decent shirts and shoes, but we encountered full on strapless dresses and pearls. No, not kidding.

You’d think we were REALLY doing Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

But, the annual kidnap Sidekick is all about doing something out of the norm, so we both took a deep breath and entered the den of schwank.

There, we had some of the most amazing tapas (called Mosaics) and a blue cocktail. Quite the entertainment factor.

If you head over, I highly reccommend the chicken lollipops. But realize, the menu does change on a regular basis…

And we survived women in stilettos and pearls and got to hear one of my favorite lines of all time:

“don’t take me home until I’m good and drunk. Very drunk indeed.”

AND got to do it with a view of the city I grew up in, not the suburban E. Nowhere I live in now.

It was worth braving my arch nemesis, schwank for this kind of fun.

Entry filed under: hilarity.

The Chipotle Incident Denial

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  September 3, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Gosh, I’m a TU blogger and even I didn’t go 😦 I am so NOT a swank person!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

