Mushroom Maybe

November 17, 2010 at 12:33 pm Leave a comment

Last night, after a long, long, long day of me wanting to curl back up into my flannel sheets and say “Wake me up when Tuesday ends,” I went to a Times Union sponsored Mom’s Night Out. It was held at this amazing place called Creo.

I had stumbled onto this Mom’s night out through my fellow blogger and person who knows how frustrating the local school district can be, Jen. $20.00 for a tasting menu and some wine and a night away from the guys? I’m in!

We sat down and were treated to a card with the recipies for BOTH items we’d be eating, created by Creo’s amazing Chef Plummer.

Now, I’m not as picky an eater as other people in this house, but I totally have my list of “Oh, good lord no!” foods. Normally, mushrooms are high on that list, as I think they are the consistency of snot.

Yes, Snot.

So, when I saw a wild mushroom strudel on the menu, I was wondering exactly how I could avoid eating this as I’m not a mushroom fan.

Again. Snot.

I wondered how I could avoid insulting the chef, who created these dishes just for us and was hosting us.

So, I made a decision. I would do what I always tell Doug I’m going to do to him-Broaden the food horizons.

When the wild mushroom strudel arrived, I was tempted by the truffle oil and garlic cream sauce over top and dug in…

and….

yum.

No snot, no ick, no nothing. All I tasted was WONDERFUL!

Chef Plummer, you are a wonder. You made a mushroom hater actually enjoy them!

I still won’t eat them outside of this, but that’s another story.

Entry filed under: insanity.

How many Occupational Therapists does it take… 1 year

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,901 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

