Chalk this up to the Good Karma file

December 26, 2010 at 8:39 am Leave a comment

With a noreaster breathing down our necks here in E. Nowhere, Doug and Isaac were a bit concerned about getting out of the airport here to get to see the outlaws in Arizona.

Me, personally, well, if you’ve been hanging around long enough, you know how I feel. I would have loved to say “screw off” to them and keep the guys here. I don’t spend enough time with either of them, and it’s because of the hellacious work schedule I keep. Just because I have two days off, doesn’t mean they’re really mine. Seriously. But I digress.

Anyhoo, the guys were supposed to fly out of here and head to Baltimore and then go to Phoenix.

Now, first off, does anyone see the faulty logic here? Going east first to go west? Yeah. Seriously. Taking a longer flight and all of that and a roundabout route. Nice.
Now, the thing about where we live is that it’s a geographically protected area. We learn that early on in grade school. We’re protected by two very large mountain ranges that any sort of storm has to pass before it hits us. So, there are storms where the surrounding areas get dumped on and we get absolutely nothing. Hence, my attitude of “I’ll believe the pileup when I see it.”

 

BUT, Baltimore…well, that’s a whole other story. If this storm hits us, they’re going to get SLAMMED. Ya know, being coastal and all…

 

So, does anyone see the faulty logic here again? Midwest has already gotten this storm. It’s CLEAR there!!
So, why were the guys not routed through Chicago?

Yeah. No clue.

So, last night, instead of a “Merry Christmas” call, Colostomy calls here and wants to talk to Doug about the plane flight. Nothing about our day, nothing about how Isaac enjoyed his gifts…none of that. Just his usual selfish banter of “How are you going to get to us.”

Frankly, again, I don’t care.

BUT, put this in the good karma file.

Doug was talking about going through Chicago, and if they could get from here to Chicago, they could get to Phoenix no problem.

(see the wheels turning in my head?)

So, I logged onto the Southwest site and found that there not only was a flight on Monday (the day they’re leaving) to Chicago and connecting to Phoenix, but there were (ready?) STILL AVAILABLE SEATS on the flight!!

So, I grabbed the phone and dialed Southwest. I tossed my cell phone to Doug and made him call Colostomy to make sure he would pay for a flight change, because I’m totally not footing the bill for any sort of visit to them.

There I sat, on hold, for 43 minutes and 28 seconds (my phone has a timer..) and spoke to the nicest Southwest agent. She took the reservation numbers and listened patiently as I explained what I would love her to do, if possible.

I got put on hold.

I hate hold. But I understand.

She then returned with the news that I had gotten them on the flights to Midway and then on to Phoenix. No upgrade charge, no penalty, no fees. Just a straight flight change.

It even gets the two of them into Phoenix a bit earlier!

Oh, and the Southwest person told me that I was the nicest, most polite customer she had dealt with that day…how can you not be nice on Christmas!? But I digress.

 

Do you even think I got a “thank you” out of those fools?

 

This is so going in my “good karma” file.

or as my old principal used to say-I’m doing this for the souls in purgatory.

because there’s no other reason to do this.

Entry filed under: annoyances, family, insanity.

Christmas Presents and the 6 year old ADHD response Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

