Running out of room!

January 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm 1 comment

I know I haven’t talked about crafting for quite some time.  I had to take a break for a while, but now with a few gifts to be made and them being for special people and all, I figured it was high time to get back into gear. So, here’s the problem that has arisen again. The question of space for my junk. My yarn, fabric, needles and notions. Blah.

So here’s the deal:

When I took up knitting a few years ago, the largest challenge for me was to find storage for my growing arsenal of yarn, books, needles and notions.  Doug was sick of finding my yarn and sock needles all over my house.  The first storage option that came to both of our heads when we moved into our current place was to take one of the tv stands in our house and instead of put a TV on it, make it into yarn/sewing storage and things.  Sewing machine on top, yarn and things on the bottom and on the shelves. Books on the side where DVDs/Videos are supposed to go. It worked well…until…

a cat came along and trashed the door on it and got into my yarn stash. It was then that I got rubbermaid drawers and moved the stuff into my craft room.

Now, I’m up to running out of room. AGAIN.

So, here’s my question…what would you do to help out with supply storage space? I’ve already pared everything down, but I’m still running out of room for it all!

I NEED IDEAS!!!

Entry filed under: fiber stuff, giveaways, super crafter.

Dive! Dive! Dive! Dear Entity that Controls the Weather:

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amey  |  January 12, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Living near an IKEA, I got one of the 5×5 Expedits and am slowly acquiring bins for it (the itso ones from Target work and come in fun prints). My goal would be to have a type of yarn in each bin – right now I have one that’s all cotton (sugar and cream type stuff), one for sock yarn, one for cottonease. I still have 3 of the large Rubbermaid bins with worsteds (either wool [2] or acrylic blends [1]).
    I’m not sure those would work for you, though, since there’s a risk of Kitteh access. We also have a large white cabinet from Home Depot kind of like this: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053&productId=100580672&R=100580672 that I store craft supplies in – they’re largely in those rubbermaid “shoe” boxes – things like buttons, elastic, embroidery floss, glues, rubber stamps, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,772 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

