Good customer service is alive and well!

February 6, 2011 at 10:44 am 2 comments

It’s not a secret that I love The Consumerist. Seriously. I was the first one of my good buddies to know about the good ol’ local snake in the broccoli at Friday’s incident. No, I’m not linking. It was disgusting and I’ll spare you all the photos.  So, when I basically killed my favorite pair of dress shoes and really desperately needed a new pair of sneakers, I went trolling around online. It was then I went and visited the Consumerist for one of my daily reads. The top article was about how Zappos.com had gone above and beyond and even sent flowers to the customer.

I decided it was time to visit their site.  If this was the kind of customer service that they gave, then maybe it was time to patronize the company.

I found two pairs of shoes, even a pair of my beloved Sketchers that I ordered. Plus a pair of Nike sneakers that looked really, really good.

They came quickly, but that’s not the point. That kind of service is easy to provide.

It was what happened next that blew my mind.

The Nike sneakers were awful. With all of the damage I have done to the bones in my feet, I can’t have any sort of tethered tongue on my shoes.  Most ones with laces don’t have tethered tongues! Well, this one did. Yikes.

I got it on my foot and instant pain! Yikes! Horrible!

So, taking a deep breath and bracing myself for impact, I called the company to inquire about their return policy. It was a Saturday. I was braced for long hold times and generally surly staff because it was a Saturday morning.

No such thing happened. I was put on the line with a sweet, wonderful human being , without a bunch of “press..” options.

I explained the situation with my shoes. Explained that I needed a new pair of sneakers, because mine were rapidly biting the dust.

Normally, I would expect a canned response..but instead, I got

“So…rapid death, huh? Well, we best get you sneakers that are more alive than what you currently have!”

The CSR then noted my address, and asked me about the weather and the evil snow we were getting. We got to chatting and we chatted forever. She had no quotas, it was all about the human interaction that makes their customers tick.

She then emailed me a label for FREE SHIPPING back! Yay! and then upgraded my account to VIP status. So, now, I get free overnight shipping. On top of all of that, she overnighted my new shoes to me.

I thought that was awesome, but the crowning glory was what cropped up the other day in my mailbox.

A hand written, decorated thank you note with stickers in it from the M&M store in Las Vegas! (sidenote-the Zappos headquarters is in Vegas…) It not only referenced the conversation we had-but the little gift was so totally perfect-and blew me away. We had chatted about the M&M store and the Coke store, and how I wished I had grabbed some stickers or something when I was passing through all those years ago.

 

Now, I have my stickers, a new friend at Zappos and a new place to get my shoes.

Visit Zappos. It’s nice when a company not only empowers their employees to be HUMAN but encourages it.

Entry filed under: wow.

Dear Entity that Controls the Weather: One more thing I just don’t get

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  February 6, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I will have to remember how awesome they are the next time I am looking for shoes.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn  |  February 9, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Well now I’m going to have to give them a try. I’ve heard really good things about them. I’m in the market for a pair of UGGs so might as well get them from Zappos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,899 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

