One more thing I just don’t get

February 12, 2011 at 6:53 am Leave a comment

Today, I made one of my visits to Wal Mart for a few items. One being a Valentine Present for the small boy- a copy of Lego Batman for the DS.

I checked out uneventfully, and paid, and I used a card for part of the purchase. That part of the purchase just didn’t add up. The items I purchased on that ticket were priced 19.99, 13.49, and 19.98 respectively. The bill came to 31 and change.

Didn’t make sense, but since I’ve used this cashier before and she’s been competent and I wasn’t watching the scanner…I figured something rang up on sale as things are apt to do at Wal Mart.

When I checked the receipt, I found that the game was never paid for. It was out of the security clamshell, and I think the sweet, competent cashier thought she had scanned it. Well, it never rang up.

So, I went over to customer service and showed them my receipt and insisted on paying for it. It’s only right and I fully believe in Karma-you know, what comes around goes around.  Plus, it’s only right. I had the money, I had the item, I noticed it. I had to pay for it.

So, when I went over, the customer service desk person asked me  WHY I was pointing it out to them and insisting on paying for the game. She seemed to be genuinely shocked that I wasn’t walking out with the game free and clear.

I was insistent that I pay for this game. Again. Karma.

Girl kept looking and staring at me as I handed her my debit card to pay for the game. She even tried to call the computer game that I had purchased for myself the video game. I quickly corrected her and noted that it was a DS game I was trying to pay for and NOT a PC game.

I just don’t get it. Is honesty in that short of a supply these days that it is unthinkable for people to actually fess up?  Is doing the right thing so foreign a concept to so many people that they look at those of us who try and do the right thing like we have 20 heads and are a slight shade of puce?

I really don’t get the reaction. But that’s just me.

Entry filed under: insanity.

Good customer service is alive and well! From the “it seemed like a good idea at the time” files

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,715 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

