The last day of school

June 24, 2011 at 8:00 am 1 comment

Here we are at the end of another year.

There hasn’t been much about my work, because all year, I’ve had to endure a social media blackout because  a few years back, a group of insane parents  decided to go on Facebook and slam the school, administration and pretty much everything about it.

I can say that it has been one of the hardest years I’ve spent teaching. Hey-this year, I didn’t do much teaching,because of the way the boss wanted to do the technology curriculum. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what people wanted and doing things that were originally not in my job description. Like making slideshows on short notice for the school board. Doing the web registration because the people that were supposed to do it flaked out.

It was a job that became harder as the school year went on and was thankless from the start.

I’m not saying this school is bad-on the contrary, it’s a VERY good school.  The academics are amazing.

But for me? Not the place for me to be, on a lot of levels. So, it was a mixed blessing when the enrollment dropped enough (the curse of the private school) for them to cut a position. Oh, that position?

Mine.

I’m ok. Seriously.

I’m really feeling about 10 tons lighter and not worried about how I’m going to survive next year at this place.

On the job front, I have some irons in the fire, and I’m not going to chat about any of them right now. I don’t want to jinx anything that could be in the works.

As for my darling Shrimper, I now have a 2nd grader!

He survived first grade and he now is happily situated in Mrs. Gr’s class, with a few of his friends and a good mix of the other kids from the other classes. This whole group of kids is very nice and accepting, so it should be a really nice mix. As for the TA, Mrs. P is going to be his TA. From what I hear, she’s almost just like Mrs. V, who we were completely in love with this year, and were so unopposed to having her glued to Isaac for one more year, but we understand…another child needs her special brand of love and sea of calm.

From the conversations that I’ve had with Mrs. F, the nurse (she has the BESTEST intel..) Mrs. Gr is a really nice, natural transition from Mrs. J.

So, we’re up for a good year.

And now,

LET SUMMER BEGIN!!

Entry filed under: 1st Grade!, blog business.

I went to the movies and… A wet, wild day at the fun park

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Morgan O'Neil  |  June 24, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    You had to do work for your school board? How many slideshows did you have to make?

    Sounds like you are relieved to be leaving there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

