Archive for October 26, 2008

Green Apron Tales-Drive thru hell

Here we go again….it’s time for another edtion of the Green Apron tales! Woohoo!

 

So, I opened Saturday morning with FloridaShift, who misses a warm climate as much as I do, if not more, and our newest Barista. I was to train her on how to open the store, because her availiblity is like mine. Early mornings. No biggie, just let’s learn how to do this. (and I have to come up with a good name for her. she’s totally cool…but we’ll get to that…)

So, as I’m showing her how to grind coffee, I hear an “OH NO!” from right over by the  brewer. Seriously. It wouldn’t be Saturday morning without me and FloridaShift and some drama. We’ve come in to no clean rags, being told we have no espresso…and all sorts of other things. Obviously, this is par for the course with us. We’re just used to it.

So, I go flying over to the brewer, leaving Newbie (I’ll get her a permaname later…) over at the grinder working on the Verona. There, I find what has FloridaShift all hot and bothered-a note from the night before saying that the spray head on the brewer is MISSING. They can’t find it anywhere.

Oh, brother. Oh, my. Down to one brewer and my gut telling me we’re going to get SLAMMED. So, FloridaShift calls the closest store, which happens to be run by our old assistant manager..and they’ve got the part we need.  She says this:

“Hey Laura-How do you feel about a road trip?”

I jump in my car- it’s 6:30 at this point, and I zip down to the other store, pick up the sprayhead and gun it back to my store. No traffic, no nuttin, so I’m back in no time at all. The brewer gets fixed and FloridaShift says that she’s going to amend the order so we get some extra sprayheads so we don’t have to go through this again. ARGH!

So, that was only the start of things.

Let’s just throw this out there…

NEW ‘BUX RULE-

If you have more than 4 drinks to order…or you have a LIST-COME INSIDE. Do NOT go through the drive thru. Also, DO NOT attempt to order an extra drink to your order at the window. That throws us all into a tizzy.

Let’s explain why this new rule is put into place…

So, we’re humming along and humming along, and all of a sudden this happens:

*ding*

me: Hi and welcome to Starbucks ______________, what can I get you started today?”

Regular customer: “Morning! I’d like 2 iced upside down carmel macchiatos, 2 tall carmel frappucinos and a venti vanilla latte.”

me: (recognizing customer and inputting order into the expiditer at the same time..) “Hey-what, no americano today?”

Regular customer (laughing) That’s so sad you know my order….but no…not today…

Me: “ok, (gives total) come on up.”

30 seconds later…

*ding*

me: Hi and welcome to __________________ Starbucks, what can I get started for you today?”
It’s here that I notice that dude is pulling out a list. I saw it all on the video camera…..

I cringe and wait for the order…

he orders 7 drinks, right after the last 5 drink order I had. I give him the total and have him pull up. He gets up to the window and then does this..

“I need a black iced tea, unsweetened-the biggest one you have. They just called me.”

OMG-dude-you’re kidding right?

NOPE. Not kidding.

This type of thing went on all day-we had another 8 drink order fly through not even 10 minutes later, and tehy added one at the window.

 

Oh, please, stop the insanity! Seriously! STOP IT!

 

New Rule #2-

You really shouldn’t lie about the amount of time you’re in the drive thru line. We know what the deal is and being nice to us gets you perks. Being snotty and all of that gets you nowhere.

here’s how THIS one went down….

Since we were so far in the weeds, and I’m not even going into how we got there other than the idiot patrol above that ordered 90 trillion drinks through the DTR…and I was getting ready to end my shift, FloridaShift pulled me to float.

I hear woman yelling that she had been waiting 42 minutes in the drive thru with no way to get out.

 

Yeah, right. I took her order while FloridaShift was on her half. She had been waiting maybe 20 minutes MAXIMUM. Seriously.

Drama Queen gave them a right now recovery, and FloridaShift explained the situation and she even remarked to me that she knew dang well that these people were nowhere NEAR in line 42 minutes.

 

So, there you have it..Drive thru hell.

 

Next time you go through one, just remember those two rules…and we’ll be fine.

October 26, 2008 at 7:18 pm 1 comment


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 34,913 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers
October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031