Game Geeks-New stores and the most unhelpful help desk

October 13, 2009 at 8:07 pm Leave a comment

Yep! I’m back game geeking! That little fall I took at the end of last school year put me out of commission for the majority of the summer. Then, the lack of hours put me seriously under the game geek radar for an extra special long time.

Now that I’m back there are just a few changes at the game geek empire! Let’s do those in bullet points, shall we?

  • My Geekdom is now a “store of the future!” It’s neato bandito! We’ve got neat new registers and all of this high tech jazz. I’m all in bliss…
  • We now get to wear jeans and sneakers to work, along with the company shirt. I’m not knocking this. Ya gotta love jeans and sneakers.
  • We all have our own engraved name tags with the company mascot on them. What company you might ask? This should give you a hint… “there’s one…there’s another one…HOLY S####!”
  • There are game advisors who got promoted, who really are letting it go to their heads.

Then, there are the things that stay the same-

  • the supergrumpy District Manager
  • the one blockhead assistant manager
  • the hilarious people I work with
  • the area manager who still refers to me as “the girl I stole from Starbucks,” when he tells anyone about me.
  • the insane customers

So, with this store, comes a whole new crop of problems.

  • figuring out where to put the 90 trillion PS2 games that are in the store. just as an aside-I never, ever want to see another PS2 game again. Seriously.
  • figuring out why the alarm for the store was never set up until the blockhead assistant manager had to spend the night in the store.

and the largest problem…that we found upon opening this afternoon….

THE PEOPLE WHO SET UP OUR REGISTERS NEVER, EVER SET UP OUR WIRELESS…

and this meant….

WE COULDN’T RUN CREDIT CARDS OR PROCESS ANY SORT OF GIFT CARD!!!

Oh, lord. Save me.

so, I got on the phone with the help desk and got transferred to three different people…and finally I got someone who knew what they were doing on the phone…but thought we were a “regular” store and not a “store of the future”, so was giving us troubleshooting based on the ‘regular” thing. ARGH!

I passed it off to the area manager. Thank goodness the transaction that I was doing was for another district manager.

So, hopefully, the VIP party tomorrow night will come off without a hitch! No more unhelpful people!!

Entry filed under: game geeks.

It’s just got to be hockey season because… Game geeks-Why are you out on a school night?

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 34,913 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers
October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031